March National Reading Month, Women's History Month--Female Nobel Prize for Literature: Eleven Women Laureates

Since March is both National Reading Month and National Women's History Month, I thought why not celebrate by enjoying books from female Nobel Prize for Literature selections? Researching the Nobel Literature laureates, I found that in the 112-year history of the Nobel Prize, only 12 women have won the Nobel Prize for Literature. Here is a lesson plan for high school English or World Literature classes that focuses on the lives, history and work of those eleven women authors and Nobel Laureates. Here's a link for online activities and printable worksheets. In 1909: Swedish-born Selma Lagerlof becomes the first woman to win the Nobel Prize for Literature for series of children's stories entitled The Many Adventures of Nils. Note: in my original article, I missed the 1945 winner, Chilean poet Gabriela Mistral, making the total 12. Still too few. Nobel Prize for Literature: Eleven Women Laureates


Follow Me on Pinterest

About Me

My photo

Freelance writer, Top 100 Yahoo! Voices, Yahoo! News, Shine, Michigan, Detroit), blogger, teacher, mom of 4, happily married 25 years. Graduated GVSU 1986, psychology/general education and special education. continuing ed up to present. Certified MI teacher. Writing Michigan history mystery, children's Gothic fantasy. Areas of expertise: education, relationships, mental health, nutrition, history, world cultures. Passions: faith, Catholic church, sustainable living, interfaith initiatives, living simply that others might simply live. Working on MA in EI education. 

Blog Archive

Total Pageviews